Donald Trump will prohibit Chinese passenger airlines from flying to the United States from June 16, a way of sanctioning Beijing amid growing tension over the passage of a new security law in Hong Kong.

According to the White House, the measure is a response to Beijing’s decision to prevent the resumption of flights to Chinese territory by two U.S. companies, Delta and United. Both cancelled their regular lines to China when the coronavirus pandemic was declared earlier this year.

Trump’s decision affects four Chinese airlines: Air China, China Eastern Airlines, China Southern Airlines, and Xiamen Airlines.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here