With less than a week to go before the doors are reopened to the rest of the world, the European Union (EU) is considering keeping out travelers from the United States, Russia and Brazil due to the advance of the coronavirus in those countries, The New York Times revealed.

According to documents available to the New York Times, on July 1 several European countries will begin to reopen borders and airports, but citizens of these three countries will be prevented from entering the bloc because of the number of cases and the lack of prospects for reducing the disease.

So far there is no official confirmation from governments, as the documents were obtained from anonymous sources. Such a decision could have a considerable political and economic impact, as the Americans and Russians, in particular, are among the main visitors to the EU.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here