The company announced that as of the new date, May 15, anyone who did not accept the new conditions would see their account deactivated. In other words, either we accepted them or we would not be able to continue using the platform. However, today they have communicated that this will not be the case and the behavior of the accounts will not be modified for this reason:
“No accounts will be deleted on May 15 due to this update and no one will lose WhatsApp functionalities either. We will continue with reminders to people over the next few weeks.”
Whoever does not accept will only receive friendly reminders: the example that the complaints have been successful
According to WhatsApp, the majority of users who have received the new terms of service have accepted them. Those who have not yet done so because they were postponed until the 15th, will not see their account deleted or losing functions as already warned from Facebook’s instant messaging service.
However, they warn that people who do not accept will receive reminders to accept in the future. They have not communicated what the frequency of these notices will be, but if it were high, many users would accept only to stop seeing them.
In any case, it should be remembered that WhatsApp’s new privacy conditions did not affect European users, so nothing will change in any case. The striking thing was that being so, millions of users could be left without using their communication tool if they did not accept these conditions that by the GPDR did not apply.
Whether because of the complaints in social networks of many users, or because of the growth of high mentioned Telegram or Signal, the truth is that WhatsApp first postponed these measures and now has made them not matter too much, so the victory is total for its opponents and for those concerned about the integration of some of their data with those of Facebook. Something that, it is worth remembering, the company always claimed it would never do when it bought WhatsApp.