After appearing in the beta version of the apps a few weeks ago, WhatsApp has already started to activate disappearing photos for all users. It will be made available later this week, and users will need to have the latest version of the app installed on their devices.

WhatsApp names this feature on its official website as “single-view photos and videos”, as this is content that can only be opened once and then disappear forever. Already present in other messaging services, the idea of this option is that users can send photos and videos with confidential or sensitive information in a more secure way.

All we have to do to make the photo or video we send disappear is click on the icon of a circle with a (1) inside it. The recipient will only be able to open the image or video once in full screen, with no built-in options to forward it to anyone else or use it in other applications. You won’t even be able to see it again yourself, although you can tell from the message information whether the recipient has seen it or not.

If you have the latest version of WhatsApp installed on your device, you can check if you already have the option by looking for the icon with the (1) in the interface to send images or videos you take with the camera. You may not have it yet, as it will take a few more days for the new feature to spread to everyone. It works on iOS, Android and even from the web interface and desktop apps.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here