Opening a Twitter profile is very simple, in a matter of seconds you already have an active account. The problem comes when you want to delete your Twitter profile. It’s not really a simple step, like deleting and everything disappears. For 30 days Twitter keeps your account in hibernation status, in case you have not thought it through. After this period and if you don’t log back into your Twitter profile it will be deleted.
Steps to permanently delete a Twitter account
If you want to permanently unsubscribe and disappear from the microblogging world, follow the steps below. It is very simple.
Delete Twitter account from your computer
Click on your twitter profile image, this will open the profile and communication menu. Select the Settings and privacy option. At the end of the menu appears the option “Deactivate my account”.
When you click on deactivate my account another screen will appear where Twitter makes sure that you really want to say goodbye. In this section you will also see Twitter’s conditions for deleting an account. Remember that when you click on “Deactivate your username” your account will be inactive for 30 days, not deleted. If during this period you do not decide to reactivate it, then your Twitter account will be deleted.
Deleting a Twitter account from a cell phone
Twitter does not allow the option to delete a twitter account from a mobile device. For the security of a user who may lose the mobile or that another person accessing the mobile terminal can delete the twitter profile.
The only option is to unsubscribe from Twitter through the desktop version, which you can do if you force titter to use the desktop version of their website, even if you access it with the cell phone browser. First you will have to go to the settings, for which you will have to type twitter.com/settings/account in the address bar of the browser and then follow the steps described above for the computer.
After 30 days you will lose your account, username, tweets and followers.
Will my tweets disappear when I delete my account?
Yes, Twitter deletes your account but keeps all your data for 30 days in case you want to log in again or it was not really you who decided to delete the account.
When you have several people managing your social network accounts, including Twitter. Someone may mistakenly or in “bad faith” delete your account. For this reason Twitter keeps your data for a month before deleting your Twitter account permanently.
On the other hand, tweets that have been indexed by Google will continue to appear for a while.
How to delete someone else’s Twitter account?
You cannot delete other people’s Twitter account if it is not your own profile. Nor can you delete a Twitter account without passwords.
What you can do is to report a Twitter account, in case you have a reason (it publishes spam, its account is hacked, it is impersonating you, it shares abusive or harmful content). It has to be a reason that violates Twitter rules. Otherwise, everyone would be reporting competitor profiles.
These are the steps to follow to report a Twitter profile, but not to delete it:
- Go to the profile of the person or brand you want to report or get the Twitter account deleted.
- Select the drop-down option, 3 dots, that appears just below the Twitter header photo next to the follow/follow button and drop down the menu.
- Select the report to option and fill out the form provided by Twitter.
The process of deleting a Twitter account is simple, much simpler than on Facebook. Remember that you will only be able to delete it from the desktop version. Follow the steps:
- From your profile picture drop down the menu and choose the settings and privacy option.
- At the bottom of the page you will find the deactivate my account button.
- In the next step click again on deactivate and your username.
- Wait 30 days without logging in and your twitter account will be deleted.
It’s as simple as that. Keep in mind that after those 30 days you will lose everything: username, followers etc.