How to ask Google to blur your house in Street View if you consider that your privacy is being violated

Google Street View allows you to walk down any street in any city in the world as if you were really there. However, it also allows others to walk in front of your house, gossip and study the surroundings of your home. This can pose a risk to the privacy and intimacy of a person, who does not know who may be scrutinizing the door of your home or with what intentions.

Although most users are unaware of it, Google Street View allows blurring the facade of a house. That is, as long as the reasons why the plot should be hidden are duly justified. The process to achieve this is relatively easy and fast.

If you do not want Google Street View to continue showing images of your house, accessible to anyone around the world, this is what you must do to hide your home.

-Open Google Maps: Enter the Google Maps app and, in the address finder, enter the location of your house, or the plot you want to blur in Street View.

– Street View mode: Once Google Maps has found your address, you must open the Street View mode. To do this, click on the yellow doll that you will see in the lower right corner of the screen. Hold down on the doll and then drag it to place it in front of your house on the map.

– “Report a problem”: When you are in front of your house, you must click on the tab that reads “Report a problem“. Depending on the versions, this appears in the lower right corner of the screen, in very small print or in a menu (three dots) next to the search box in the upper left corner.

– Report Inappropriate Street View: When you click on this tab, Google will take you to a new screen where you must enter a series of information. First of all, you must center with a box the area you would like to be blurred, and then detail the reason. It can be your house, your car or for any other reason.

– “Send”: After explaining why you want the image to be blurred and entering your email address, you must click on the blue box that says “Send”. Now all you have to do is wait for Google to make a decision, which will be notified to you by email.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here